Apple Ginger Green Smoothie

Juicing or blending? There are those that swear by juicing, touting the benefits of concentrated natural vitamins: yet, there are others that refuse to leave behind the benefits found in the fiber gained by blending. I, for the most part, tend to fall in the latter category. Blending allows both the nutrients and the healthy fiber to be ingested, and, as an added bonus, the cleanup is much easier. As much as I would like to claim that I’m interested in the fiber aspect, I think in truth I was won over by the ‘easier cleanup’ part. Lol! IMG_5692 Lately I have been enamored with ginger. It started as I was picking up a few items at Whole Foods and on a whim, decided to grab a juice from their totally epic amazing juice bar. The juice was called ‘Gingersnap’: and it was, as expected, both epic and amazing! It featured carrots, apple, and a touch of lemon: but the intense ginger definitely took center stage. And then I was hooked. A few days later I stopped at the Jamba Juice in the Las Vegas airport and was excited to see a ‘Greens and Ginger’ smoothie on the menu. And, of course, I ordered it. And it was SUBLIME! Sweet, earthy, tart and seriously spicy! IMG_5693

I went home determined to recreate something akin to these lovely green drinks and really must congratulate myself on how well my concoction turned out! If you like ginger, you will like this creation. Make it. And then, let’s raise our glasses of green in toast to the health benefits of ginger! Cheers!

IMG_5695 Recipe

  • ¼ cup Apple Juice
  • ¼ cup Carrot Juice
  • 2 handfuls raw Spinach
  • 1 ½ inches raw Ginger
  • 3 Frozen Strawberries
  • ½ Banana
  • squeeze of Lemon

Combine all ingredients in a blender. Blend until smooth. Enjoy! *Note: This blends to the consistency of juice. If you prefer a smoothie texture, use frozen banana and 1/8 cup of carrot juice Apple Ginger Green Smoothie

Leave a Reply

