A Whimsical Vintage Christmas

 

IMG_0861

Dear Blog World- I have sooo neglected you! You poor poor poor dear! I have been busily living 2015 and let me tell you, it has taken both hands to hold on! Now that we are in the Christmas season I feel comfortable enough to free up some energy to spend on being festive. To me, one of the best parts of giving gifts is the wrapping. I love looking at all the ideas on Pinterest and I use many of them, though they mostly get re-morphed into something else- gotta sprinkle everything with sparkle dust to make it my own!

FullSizeRender

Several months ago I was in my happy place (for those of you that don’t know, that would be Goodwill) and I found this awesome yellow and pink wrapping paper that immediately screamed ‘vintage’ and I knew I had to use it for Christmas! I know- yellow and pink aren’t really Christmas colors, so it’s just one of those things that you make happen. And so, I now dub yellow and pink as totally Christmas appropriate. I had this vintage whimsical thing going on in my brain and I really feel like it just… well, came together!

IMG_0854

As you know, the best time to get Christmas paraphernalia is January: because this is the time that everything drops from a million dollars to like 2 cents. That would be the case with my totally amazing felt tree ribbon. Seriously, I think I paid 25 cents per roll at Hancocks. But since we are still in December, Michaels and Target have fabulous dollar aisles that will allow you to create fabulousness with a little creativity and just a few bucks. The felt ornament gift toppers as well as the vintage cards were all from Michaels dollar aisle. The other ornaments were half off at Hobby Lobby, which always has really great deals and really great stuff! I mean, what other store has a 40% off coupon that you can use whenever you want?!

IMG_0856

At any rate, while these are not exactly ‘brown paper packages tied up with string’, they still fall under my personal ‘few of my favorite things’ category! Merry Christmas and may Santa bring you pretty packages (I hope the gifts are good too!;) )

Xo, Kim

Leave a Reply

