Whimsical Christmas Cake

image

Let’s talk about cake. Not just your average cake- but something that tastes amazing inside. Now, let’s talk about the outside of said cake. I cannot tell you how many cakes I have made that tasted so amazing yet looked like it got in a fight with the oven/frosting/kitchenaid. Ugly cakes may taste good, but cakes just seem to taste so much better when they are pretty!

The other day I was in Home Goods and this awesome Nutcracker cupcake kit jumped out at me. Buuuut… I don’t do cupcakes. In fact, I barely do cakes- mainly because they turn out so…ugly! And while I can handle many things, creating something ugly is just not one of them. The tiny characters inspired so much more than just a boring old cupcakes. And so I decided I was going to make a pretty cake. Just. Like. That.

Nutcracker kit

The Nutcracker characters are dancing across a bed of fluffy marshmallows. The center piece? Well, the side of the box was pretty cute and I didn’t want it to go to waste… so I cut it out and used double sided tape and a toothpick to create the double-sided city/tree backdrop in the center.

image

I pinned a really great cake frosting tutorial (this one) on Pinterest and while not perfect, I think it turned out pretty well! Finally,  a pretty cake. And the frosting is a stable cream cheese frosting so double yum. You can find the recipe for stable cream cheese frosting right here . I left out the sour cream, and used less powdered sugar to keep it from being too sweet. It turned out fantastic! Now to pass out forks! Cheers all!

XO, Kim

image

 

Leave a Reply

